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NOTICE TO READERS 
 

 
 
This report provides highlights of new laws affecting taxes enacted 

during the 2011 regular and special legislative sessions. It does not 
include vetoed acts. 

 
Not all provisions of the acts are included here. Complete summaries 

of all 2011 public acts passed will be available when OLR’s Public Act 

Summary book is published; most are already available on OLR’s 
webpage: http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr/OLRPASums.asp 

 
Readers are encouraged to obtain the full text of acts that interest 

them from the Connecticut State Library, the House Clerk’s Office, or the 

General Assembly’s website: http://www.cga.ct.gov. 
 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr/OLRPASums.asp
http://www.cga.ct.gov/
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CORPORATION TAX 
 

Surcharge 
 

A new law imposes a 20% 
corporation tax surcharge for the 
2012 and 2013 income years.  

The surcharge applies to 
companies that have more than 
$250 in corporation tax liability 

and either (1) have at least $100 
million in annual gross income in 

those years or (2) file combined 
or unitary returns. 

(PA 11-6, effective upon 

passage and applicable to income 
years starting on or after that 

date) 
 
Credit Limit 

 
For the 2011 and 2012 

income years, an act allows 

companies that add new 
employees to use tax credits to 

reduce their annual corporation 
tax liability beyond the 70% limit 
set in law.  The additional offset 

equals $6,000 times the 
company’s average net monthly 
increase in employees, up to 

100% of its total tax liability. 
(PA 11-6, effective upon 

passage and applicable to income 
years starting on or after 
January 1, 2011) 

 
Economic Nexus 

 
A new law (1) requires a 

company to meet both, rather 

than one, of the existing criteria 
to have economic nexus in 
Connecticut and thus be liable 

for corporation tax and (2) 

exempts certain foreign 
corporations from economic 

nexus in conformity with the 
Department of Revenue Services’ 

(DRS) current policy. 
(PA 11-61, effective upon 

passage and applicable to income 

years starting on or after 
January 1, 2011) 
 

New Manufacturing 
Reinvestment Account 

 
A new law requires the 

Department of Economic and 

Community Development (DECD) 
commissioner to establish a 

Manufacturing Reinvestment 
Account (MRA) program under 
which small manufacturers with 

50 or fewer employees can defer 
corporation business taxes on 
the money they save for training, 

developing, and expanding their 
workforce or purchasing 

machinery, equipment, or 
facilities.  

Up to 100 manufacturing 

companies may participate in the 
program.  Each company may 
deposit up to (1) $50,000 in an 

MRA during the 2011 income 
year and (2) $100,000 for income 

years starting on or after 
January 1, 2012. 

(PA 11-140, as amended by 

PA 11-1, October Special Session 
(OSS), effective July 1, 2011 and 

applicable to income years 
starting on or after that date) 

 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=140&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=140&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/CGAbillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6801&which_year=2011
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INCOME TAX 
 

Rate Increase  
 

New legislation increases the 
marginal income tax rates for 
those with taxable incomes over 

(1) $100,000 for joint filers, (2) 
$50,000 for single filers and 
married people filing separately, 

and (3) $80,000 for heads of 
household. It also phases out the 

lowest (3%) income tax bracket 
for taxpayers over certain 
adjusted gross income thresholds 

and imposes a “recapture 
provision” to eliminate the 

benefits taxpayers with higher 
incomes receive from having a 
portion of their income taxed at 

lower marginal rates.  
The DRS commissioner must 

issue new withholding tables 

applicable for the 2011 tax year 
as soon as possible.  Those 

paying estimated taxes must 
adjust their September 2011 
payment to reflect the changes. 

(PA 11-6, effective upon 
passage and applicable to tax 
years starting on or after 

January 1, 2011) 
 

Earned Income Tax Credit 
 
A new law establishes a 

refundable state earned income 
tax credit equal to 30% of the 

federal credit and, to the extent 
allowed under federal law, 
specifies that the refund is not 

counted in determining eligibility 
for or the amount of aid under 
any need-based state or federal 

program.   

(PA 11-6, as amended by PA 
11-1, June Special Session, 

effective upon passage and 
applicable to tax years starting 

on or after January 1, 2011) 
 

Property Tax Credit Reduction 

 
A new law reduces, from $500 

to $300, the maximum property 

tax credit against the personal 
income tax and phases out the 

credit at a steeper rate, thus 
reducing the number of 
taxpayers eligible for the credit. 

(PA 11-6, effective upon 
passage and applicable to tax 

years starting on or after 
January 1, 2011) 

 

INSURANCE PREMIUM TAX 
 

Nonadmitted Insurance 

Premium Tax 
 

In accordance with the 2010 
federal Nonadmitted and 
Reinsurance Reform Act (NRRA), 

an act limits the policies subject 
to the state’s 4% tax on gross 
premiums charged by 

nonadmitted insurers on 
insurance policies procured 

independently or through 
licensed surplus lines brokers.  

It also (1) modifies how 

individuals and brokers must 
pay the tax, (2) allows the DRS 

and insurance commissioners to 
enter into an agreement with 
other states regarding the 

allocation of premium taxes 
among the states in cases where 
the policy covers multiple states,  

http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://cga.ct.gov/2011/ACT/PA/2011PA-00001-R00HB-06701SS1-PA.htm
http://cga.ct.gov/2011/ACT/PA/2011PA-00001-R00HB-06701SS1-PA.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
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(3) exempts certain commercial 
purchasers from certain filing 

requirements, and (4) modifies 
the penalty and interest due on 

unpaid tax payments. 
(PA 11-61, effective upon 

passage and applicable to 

nonadmitted insurance coverage 
procured, continued, or renewed 
on or after July 1, 2011) 

 
Credit Limit 

 
A new law lowers, from 70% to 

30%, the amount by which an 

insurer can reduce its annual 
insurance premium tax liability 

for 2011 and 2012 through tax 
credits.  It exempts from this 
30% limit (1) insurance 

reinvestment fund, (2) digital 
animation, (3) film production, 
and (4) film infrastructure 

investment tax credits.  It also 
allows an insurer to offset 

additional tax liability in these 
income years if it adds 
employees. 

It establishes the maximum 
tax liability that an insurer can 
offset in 2011 and 2012 by 

claiming one or more types of 
credits and specifies the order in 

which these credit types must be 
claimed. 

(PA 11-6, as amended by PA 

11-61 and PA 11-1, OSS, 
effective upon passage and 

applicable to calendar years 
starting on or after January 1, 
2011) 

 

Captive Insurance Companies 
 

An act revises and expands 
the laws which permit a captive 

insurance company to be 
licensed and domiciled in 
Connecticut.  Among other 

things, it: 
1. establishes a reinsurance 

premium tax requirement,  

2. requires 11% of all captive 
premium taxes to be 

transferred to the newly 
created captive insurance 
regulatory and supervision 

account, 
3. allows 2% of the premium 

taxes to be transferred to 
DECD to promote the 
captive industry, and 

4. establishes a $7,500 
nonrefundable tax credit 
for a captive’s first taxable 

year. 
(PA 11-1, OSS, effective July 

1, 2012) 
 

MISCELLANEOUS TAX 

CHANGES 
 

Admissions Tax Exemptions 

 
An act eliminates exemptions 

from the 10% admissions tax for 
various facilities and events, 
including the Hartford Civic 

Center, New Britain Stadium, 
and Connecticut Convention 

Center. 
(PA 11-6, effective January 1, 

2012 and applicable to charges 

imposed on or after that date) 
 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/CGAbillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6801&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/CGAbillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6801&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011


   

November 23, 2011 Page 8 of 21 2011-R-0261 

 

Alcoholic Beverages Tax  
 

A new law increases the excise 
tax on alcoholic beverages (e.g., 

beer, wine, liquor) by 20%.  It 
requires sellers to pay an 
additional one-time tax on the 

alcoholic beverages in their 
inventories as of the opening of 
business on July 1, 2011.  The 

tax on inventory is payable by 
August 15, 2011. 

(PA 11-6, effective upon 
passage and applicable to sales 
on or after July 1, 2011) 

 
Cigarette and Tobacco 

Products Taxes 
 
An act increases the tax on (1) 

cigarettes from $3 to $3.40 per 
pack, (2) snuff tobacco from 55 
cents to $1 per ounce, and (3) all 

other tobacco products from 
27.5% to 50% of the wholesale 

price.  It caps the tax on cigars at 
50 cents each.   

It also imposes a one-time 

inventory tax of 40 cents per 
pack on cigarettes in a dealer’s 
inventory as of the opening of 

business on July 1, 2011.  The 
inventory tax is payable by 

August 15, 2011. 
(PA 11-6, as amended by PA 

11-61, effective July 1, 2011 and 

applicable to sales on or after 
that date) 

 
Diesel Fuels Tax  

 

An act increases the base tax 
on diesel fuel from 26 cents to 29 
centers per gallon.  It imposes a 

three-cent inventory tax on each 

gallon of diesel that licensed 
sellers had in inventory as of 

either the close of business or 
11:59 p.m. on June 30, 2011, 

whichever was earlier.  Dealers 
must pay the inventory tax by 
August 1, 2011. 

(PA 11-6, effective July 1, 
2011, except the inventory tax is 
effective upon passage) 

 
Electric Generation Tax 

 
A new law imposes a 

temporary tax on electric 

generation facilities of ¼ of a cent 
per net kilowatt hour of 

electricity generated and 
uploaded into the regional bulk 
power grid at Connecticut 

facilities.  The tax applies to all 
electricity except that generated 
(1) by a resources recovery 

facility, (2) by customer-side 
distributed resources, or (3) 

through use of a fuel cell or 
alternative energy system, such 
as a solar or wind system. The 

tax expires on June 30, 2013. 
(PA 11-6, as amended by PA 

11-61, effective July 1, 2011) 

 
Estate and Gift Taxes 

 
A new law lowers the estate 

and gift tax threshold from $3.5 

million to $2 million and extends 
the existing 7.2% rate to estates 

and gifts valued at between $2 
million and $3.5 million.  It 
makes a conforming change in 

requirements for (1) filing estate 
tax returns with the probate 
court and (2) releasing estate tax 

liens.  It also validates probate 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
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court lien release certificates 
issued and recorded in town 

records where the property is 
located before May 4, 2011 (the 

new law’s effective date) for 
estates of those who died on or 
after January 1, 2011, and 

whose Connecticut taxable 
estates were valued at between 
$2 million and $3.5 million. 

(PA 11-6, as amended by PA 
11-61, effective upon passage, 

and applicable to deaths 
occurring and gifts made on or 
after January 1, 2011) 

 
Hospital Tax 

 
An act establishes a new 

quarterly tax on hospital “net 

patient revenue.”  Net patient 
revenue is the amount of accrued 
payments a hospital earns for 

providing inpatient and 
outpatient services.  The amount 

of the tax is the maximum 
allowed by federal law (up to 5% 
through September 30, 2011 and 

6% as of October 1, 2011).  The 
new law requires hospitals to file 
the returns and pay the taxes 

electronically. 
(PA 11-6, as amended by PA 

11-44 and PA 11-61, effective 
July 1, 2011 and applicable to 
calendar quarters starting on or 

after that date) 
 

Real Estate Conveyance Tax 
 
A new law (1) increases the 

state real estate conveyance tax 
rates by 0.25% and (2) makes 
permanent the 0.25% base 

municipal real estate conveyance 

tax, previously scheduled to 
expire on June 30, 2011. 

(PA 11-6, effective July 1, 
2011 and applicable to 

conveyances occurring on or 
after that date) 

 

Business Entity Tax 
 
Effective with tax years 

beginning on or after January 1, 
2013, a new law makes the $250 

business entity tax payable every 
other year rather than every year, 
effectively reducing the annual 

tax by 50%.   
(PA 11-1, OSS, effective upon 

passage) 
 

PROPERTY TAX 

 
Truck and MME Property Tax 
Exemptions  

 
Beginning with the October 1, 

2011 assessment year, a new law 
exempts all eligible 
manufacturing machinery and 

equipment (MME) from local 
property taxes regardless of when 
it was purchased or acquired. 

This property was previously 
exempt under three separate 

programs for MME purchased or 
acquired (1) on or before October 
1, 2006, (2) between October 2, 

2006 and October 1, 2011, and 
(3) on or after October 1, 2011.  

(PA 11-61, effective July 1, 
2011 and applicable to 
assessment years starting on or 

after October 1, 2011) 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/CGAbillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6801&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
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Manufacturing Transition 

Grants 
 

A new law eliminates the 
payments in lieu of taxes 
(PILOTs) for MME and 

commercial trucks for 
assessment years that begin on 
or after October 1, 2011.  To 

mitigate the loss of the PILOTs, 
the act requires the state to 

distribute “manufacturing 
transition grants” to 
municipalities.  The grants must 

equal the PILOT grant amounts 
each municipality received in FY 

11.  The act allocates a portion of 
the sales, luxury, and state 
conveyance tax to fund these 

grants.   
The state must distribute any 

remaining funds to 

municipalities as follows: 50% on 
a per capita basis and 50% 

according to an existing property 
tax relief formula. 
(PA 11-6, as amended by PA 11-

61, effective July 1, 2011) 
 

Ten Mill Program 

 
A new law allows an owner of 

forest land enrolled in the state’s 
“10 mill program” to convert to 
the state’s forest preservation 

program (“490 program”) without 
penalty if the land’s sale or 

donation to a nonprofit land 
preservation organization or a 
permanent conservation 

easement on the land occurs 
before the conversion. 

It also specifies that 

woodlands retaining a 10 mill 

classification on their 50th-year 
revaluation will be assessed at a 

tax rate not to exceed the similar 
properties classified as 

“forestland” under the 490 
program. 

(PA 11-198, effective upon 

passage) 
 

Telecommunications 

Companies 
 

A new law allows municipal 
tax collectors to bill 
telecommunications companies 

for half the personal property 
taxes due in 2011 before they 

would otherwise be due.  It 
allows them to mail or deliver the 
bill in two installments, the first 

one before the July 1, 2011 due 
date and the second on or after 
that date. The first installment 

must equal half the company’s 
2010 assessment multiplied by 

the municipality’s mill rate for FY 
11. The second installment must 
equal the other half of the 2010 

assessment multiplied by the 
municipality’s FY 12 mill rate.  

The act subjects 

telecommunications companies 
to generally applicable property 

tax collection laws for 
assessment years beginning on 
or after October 1, 2011. 

(PA 11-1, effective upon 
passage) 

 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=198&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/CGAbillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6292&which_year=2011
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Municipal Tax Bills 
 

An act allows local tax 
collectors to send property tax 

bills and statements by email, as 
long as the (1) taxpayer consents 
in writing to receive them 

electronically and (2) community 
imposing the tax (a) posts its 
email address on its website and 

(b) establishes procedures to 
ensure that any such taxpayer 

receives the bill and statement 
and is provided the community's 
return email address.  

(PA 11-185, effective October 
1, 2011, and applicable to 

assessment years starting on or 
after October 1, 2011) 
 

Optional Property Tax 
Incentives for Rehabilitation 
Areas 

 
A new law allows 

municipalities to defer an 
increased property tax 
assessment on property located 

in a designated rehabilitation 
area if the property is a 
brownfield site and the owner 

agrees to build a new common 
interest community or mixed-use 

or commercial structure on it.  
Municipalities can already defer 
an assessment increase on 

property located in a designated 
rehabilitation area if the owner 

agrees to rehabilitate the 
property or build new multifamily 
rental or cooperative housing on 

it.  
(PA 11-96, effective October 1, 

2011) 

 
Personal Property 

Declarations 
 

New legislation allows owners 
of taxable personal property to 
electronically sign and file their 

annual personal property 
declarations with municipal 
assessors for property tax 

purposes.  They can do so as 
long as the municipality (1) has 

the technological capability to 
accept electronic signatures and 
(2) agrees to accept electronic 

signatures. 
It also allows assessors to 

send blank declaration forms to 
nonresident property owners 
electronically, as long as the 

taxpayer has made a written 
request to receive the electronic 
forms. Assessors must mail or 

electronically send the blank 
declaration forms at least 30 

days before the filing deadline, 
rather than 15 days before as 
required under prior law.  

(PA 11-69, effective October 1, 
2011 and applicable to 
assessment years beginning on 

or after that date) 
 

Interest Waiver for Certain 
U.S. Armed Forces Members 

 

A new law (1) expands, to 
those serving in Afghanistan, an 

existing property tax interest 
waiver for certain U.S. armed 
forces members called to active 

service in Iraq and (2) authorizes 
municipalities’ legislative bodies 
to vote to waive property tax  

http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=185&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=96&which_year=2011&SUBMIT1.x=16&SUBMIT1.y=9
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=69&which_year=2011


   

November 23, 2011 Page 12 of 21 2011-R-0261 

 

interest for certain U.S. armed 
forces members who have been 

called to active service outside 
the state.  

(PA 11-62, effective October 1, 
2011, and applicable to 
assessment years beginning on 

or after that date) 
 
Revaluation Delays 

 
An act allows Cromwell, East 

Windsor, Orange, Farmington, 
Stamford, and Windham to delay 
a revaluation until the 2012 

assessment year with the 
approval of their respective 

legislative bodies.  The 
subsequent revaluation must  
recommence at the point in the 

schedule that the municipality 
was following prior to the delay. 

(PA 11-239, effective upon 

passage) 
 

Filing Deadline Waivers 
 
An act allows taxpayers in 

certain towns to receive property 
tax exemptions even through 
they missed the statutory 

deadlines for the exemptions.  
The exemptions are for 

manufacturing machinery and 
equipment, commercial trucks, 
and nonprofit organization 

property. 
(PA 11-239, effective upon 

passage)   
 

Hartford Property Tax 
Program 

 
A new law requires Hartford to 

make annual adjustments to the 
assessment ratios for residential 
and apartment property, as long 

as the assessment ratio for any 
property class does not exceed 
70%.  It also allows voters in 

Hartford to petition for a 
referendum on any budget that 

increases the tax levy by more 
than 2.6% over that for the prior 
fiscal year. 

(PA 11-212, effective upon 
passage) 

 
SALES TAX 

 

Rate Increase 
 
New legislation increases the 

general sales and use tax rate 
from 6% to 6.35% and the hotel 

tax rate from 12% to 15%.  It 
maintains the existing lower 
rates for sales of (1) motor 

vehicles to active duty U.S. 
military members stationed in 
Connecticut (4.5%) and (2) 

computer and data processing 
services (1%). 

(PA 11-6, as amended by PA 
11-61, effective July 1, 2011 and 
applicable to (1) sales on or after 

that date and (2) sales of services 
billed to customers for any period 

that includes that date) 
 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=62&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=212&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
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Luxury Goods  
 

An act imposes a 7% sales 
and use tax on the full sales 

price of passenger cars, boats, 
jewelry, clothing, and footwear 
costing more than:  

1. $50,000 for motor vehicles, 
with certain exceptions; 

2. $100,000 for boats; 

3. $5,000 for jewelry (real or 
imitation); and 

4. $1,000 for clothing, 
footwear, handbags, 
luggage, umbrellas, 

wallets, and watches. 
(PA 11-6, as amended by PA 

11-61, effective July 1, 2011 and 
applicable to (1) sales on or after 
that date and (2) sales of services 

billed to customers for any period 
that includes that date) 
 

Rental Car Surcharge 
 

An act imposes an additional 
3% sales and use tax (9.35% 
total) on short-term car rentals 

(30 days or less).   
(PA 11-6, as amended by PA 

11-61, effective July 1, 2011 and 

applicable to (1) sales on or after 
that date and (2) sales of services 

billed to customers for any period 
that includes that date) 
 

Exemptions Eliminated 
 

The legislature eliminated 
sales tax exemptions for the 
following goods and services: 

1. hazardous waste 
containment and removal, 

2. valet parking at any 

airport, 

3. yoga instruction at a yoga 
studio, 

4. clothing and footwear 
costing less than $50, 

5. nonprescription drugs and 
medicine, 

6. cloth or fabric for 

noncommercial sewing, 
7. yarn, and 
8. smoking cessation 

products. 
(PA 11-6, as amended by PA 

11-61, effective July 1, 2011 and 
applicable to sales on or after 
that date) 

 
New Taxable Services 

 
New legislation extends the 

sales tax to the following 

services: 
1. motor vehicle storage, 

towing, and road services; 

2. packing and crating; 
3. intrastate transportation 

with a driver (with certain 
exclusions); 

4. pet grooming, boarding, 

and obedience classes; 
5. cosmetic medical 

procedures, excluding 

reconstructive surgery; 
6. manicure, pedicure, and 

other nail services; and 
7. spa services  
(PA 11-6, as amended by PA 

11-61, effective July 1, 2011 and 
applicable to sales on or after 

that date) 
 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
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Exemption for Used Motor 
Vehicles Containing Tax-

Exempt Special Equipment 
 

A new law exempts from sales 
and use tax any part of the sale 
price of a vehicle that has special 

equipment for the exclusive use 
of a person with physical 
disabilities already installed, if 

the vehicle is sold to such a 
person. 

(PA 11-61, effective upon 
passage and applicable to all 
open tax periods) 

 
Sales Tax Collection by 

Remote Sellers 
 
New legislation requires 

certain remote sellers, including 
such online retailers as 
Amazon.com and Overstock.com, 

who have no physical presence in 
Connecticut to collect sales tax 

on their taxable sales in the 
state. The requirement applies to 
retailers who make more than 

$2,000 worth of sales in the state 
through certain agreements with 
people located in Connecticut.  

The agreements must provide 
that, in return for the resident 

referring potential customers to 
the retailer, he or she will receive 
a commission or other 

compensation from that retailer. 
(PA 11-6, as amended by PA 

11-61, effective upon passage 
and applicable to sales occurring 
on or after May 4, 2011) 

 

SPECIAL TAXING DISTRICTS 
 

Ferry Service 
 

An act expands the list of 
purposes for which residents 
may vote to establish special 

taxing districts to include 
providing ferry service.  The law 
already allows them to establish 

districts providing a wide range 
of public services and 

infrastructure. 
(PA 11-61, effective upon 

passage) 

 
Improvement Districts in 

Windsor 
 
New legislation allows voters 

in Windsor to form special taxing 
districts to finance roads, sewers, 
and other infrastructure for new 

development and pay for the 
services needed to support them.  

The districts are to be named the 
Great Pond Improvement District 
and Millbrook Green 

Improvement District. The 
act delineates the districts’ 
geographic boundaries, but the 

districts come into existence only 
if the voters approve their 

formation.  
(SA 11-8, effective July 1, 

2011) 

 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Special+Act&bill_num=8&which_year=2011
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TAX ADMINISTRATION AND 
ENFORCEMENT 

 
Reciprocal Tax Refund 

Agreements with Other States 
 
An act eliminates certain 

notice and certification 
requirements when the DRS 
commissioner withholds a 

taxpayer’s Connecticut tax 
refund at the request of another 

state where the taxpayer owes 
taxes.  Specifically, it eliminates 
the requirement that the other 

state include a detailed 
statement showing the tax, 

interest, and penalty for each 
taxable period in its request for 
taxes owed.   

Prior law also required the 
DRS commissioner to notify the 
taxpayer whenever he receives 

such a request. The new law 
requires him to do so only if the 

taxpayer is otherwise entitled to 
a Connecticut tax refund. It also 
eliminates a requirement that the 

commissioner include a copy of 
the other state's certification with 
the notice.  

(PA 11-61, effective upon 
passage) 

 
Estimated Corporation Tax 
Overpayments 

 
A new law gives a company 

that overpays its estimated 
corporation tax for the year the 
option to apply the overpayment 

to its estimated tax payments in 
the following year instead of 
receiving a refund.  (DRS policy 

already allows companies to do 

this.)  It requires the excess to be 
applied to the first installment 

due in the next income year and 
to any subsequent installments 

in the order they are due. 
(PA 11-61, effective October 1, 

2011, and applicable to 

estimated corporation tax 
payments for income years 
starting on or after January 1, 

2012) 
 

Electronic Funds Transfer 
Requirements for Withholding 
Taxes 

 
A new law allows the DRS 

commissioner to require payers 
that withhold Connecticut 
income tax from nonpayroll 

amounts to pay the withholding 
tax to DRS electronically on the 
same basis as employers. 

(PA 11-61, effective July 1, 
2011 and applicable to tax 

periods ending on or after that 
date) 

 
Successor Liability for 
Withholding Taxes 

 

An act requires a successor 
who buys a business or its entire 

stock from an employer to 
withhold enough funds from the 
purchase price to cover any 

withholding tax due until the 
employer produces either a DRS 
receipt for the tax payment or a 

DRS certificate that no taxes are 
due. 

(PA 11-61, effective July 1, 
2011 and applicable to sales of 
businesses and stock occurring 

on or after that date) 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
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Withholding Tax Deficiency 

Assessment Deadline 
 

An act extends from three to 
six years the deadline for DRS to 
send a tax deficiency assessment 

notice to any employer or pass-
through entity that omits from its 
withholding tax return more than 

25% of includable adjusted gross 
income withheld from employee 

wages or payments to 
nonresident members, 
respectively.  

(PA 11-61, effective upon 
passage and applicable to tax 

years starting on or after 
January 1, 2011) 

 

Penalty for Failing to Pay 
Taxes Electronically 

 

A new law establishes 
maximum penalties on taxpayers 

who, for the first or second time, 
fail to make tax payments 
electronically when required to 

do so. By law, the DRS 
commissioner may require 
taxpayers and employers to pay 

taxes by electronic funds transfer 
if they have (1) $4,000 or more in 

annual tax liability or (2) more 
than $2,000 in annual 
withholding tax payments.  

(PA 11-61, upon passage and 
applicable to tax periods starting 

on or after January 1, 2012) 
 

Waiver of Electronic Filing 
Requirements 

 
An act allows the DRS 

commissioner to waive electronic 
tax filing or payment 
requirements if he finds, based 

on information a waiver applicant 
provides, that it would be an 
undue hardship for a taxpayer to 

comply with the requirement.   
(PA 11-145, effective October 

1, 2011 and applicable to tax 
periods starting on or after that 
date) 

 
Illegal Use of Dyed Diesel Fuel 

 
Federal law exempts diesel 

fuel used for certain non-highway 

purposes from federal fuel taxes 
and requires exempt diesel fuel 
to be dyed red so it can be 

identified.  
A new law imposes a fine of 

up to $1,000 on anyone who 
uses dyed diesel fuel in a motor 
vehicle, other than a passenger 

or combined passenger-
commercial vehicle, on a public 
highway.  It imposes the same 

penalty on anyone who refuses to 
allow an authorized DRS or other 

state official to inspect such a 
vehicle’s fuel tank upon request.  

(PA 11-61, effective July 1, 

2011) 
 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=145&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
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Cigarette Tax Violations 
 

An act reduces penalties for 
certain cigarette dealers who 

continue to sell cigarettes or 
taxed tobacco products after 
their licenses expire.  Under prior 

law, the penalty for each knowing 
violation was a fine of up to 
$500, up to three months in jail, 

or both.  The act reduces the 
penalty to an infraction, with a 

$90 fine, for any cigarette dealer 
who operates for no more than 
90 days after his or her license 

expires. 
An act also reduces penalties 

for certain cigarette dealers who 
possess cigarettes that do not 
have required Connecticut tax 

stamps. Under prior law, the 
penalty for any knowing violation 
was a fine of up to $1,000, up to 

one year in jail, or both. Under 
the act, if it is the dealer's first 

violation and he or she possesses 
no more than 600 unstamped 
cigarettes, the penalty is reduced 

to an infraction, with a $90 fine.  
(PA 11-61, effective July 1, 

2011) 

 
Tax Security Requirements for 

Nonresident Contractors 
 

A new law revamps the tax 

security requirements for 
nonresident contractors doing 

work in the state.  Among other 
things, it requires (1) DRS, upon 
request, to verify whether 

nonresident contracts and 
subcontractors are in compliance 
with applicable registration, 

filing, and bond requirements 

and (2) general contractors, 
rather than customers, to hold 

back a portion of the contract 
price from their subcontractors 

to provide security for tax 
payment. 

(PA 11-61, effective October 1, 

2011) 
 
TAX CREDITS AND 

INCENTIVES 
 

First Five Program 
 

A new law creates the “First 

Five Program” providing 
substantial financial assistance 

for business projects creating at 
least 200 jobs and developing 
facilities within certain 

timeframes. The assistance 
includes up to 100% funding 
under the Manufacturing 

Assistance Act and business tax 
credits. The program can fund up 

to five projects per year in FY 12 
and FY 13.  

(PA 11-86, effective July 1, 

2011)  
 
Insurance Reinvestment Fund 

Program 
 

An act authorizes taxpayers to 
transfer insurance reinvestment 
fund program tax credits to an 

affiliated business or entity.  
Under this program, eligible 

taxpayers receive insurance 
premium, corporation, and 
personal income tax credits for 

investing in insurance 
businesses through a state-
certified insurance reinvestment 

fund.   

http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=86&which_year=2011
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(PA 11-140, effective upon 

passage) 
 

Extension of Economic 
Development Incentives 

 

A new law extends several 
economic development incentives 
that were previously targeted to 

enterprise zones and targeted 
investment communities (TIC) to 

more types of businesses.  It 
extends the incentives (which 
include certain property tax 

exemptions, corporation tax 
credits, and job creation grants) 

to a range of businesses, 
including those within a DECD-
designated industry cluster and 

economic-base businesses. 
It also requires the DECD 

commissioner to adopt 

regulations for certifying whether 
service businesses qualify for 

enterprise zone or TIC incentives. 
(PA 11-140, effective July 1, 

2011) 

 
Neighborhood Assistance Act 
(NAA) Tax Credits 

 
A new law changes the NAA, 

which provides business tax 
credits to companies that invest 
in certain municipally approved 

community activities and 
programs, by (1) extending NAA 

eligibility to companies subject to 
the state’s business entity tax, (2) 
increasing the total amount of 

credits a company can claim per 
year, and (3) eliminating 
charitable contribution 

requirements. 

(PA 11-140, effective October 
1, 2011) 

 
Enterprise Zone Tax Benefits 

in Plainville 
 
A new law extends enterprise 

zone tax benefits to certain 
businesses and commercial 
properties in sections of 

Plainville. 
(PA 11-140, effective July 1, 

2011) 
 

Learn Here, Live Here Program 

 
An act authorizes a new 

program that provides incentives 
to students enrolled in 
Connecticut colleges and 

universities to remain in the 
state after graduation. Under the 
program, DRS segregates eligible 

graduates’ income tax payments 
to into an account for up to 10 

years, which graduates can then 
use to purchase their first homes 
here. 

(PA 11-140, effective July 1, 
2011) 
 

Historic Preservation Tax 
Credits 

 
New legislation (1) expands 

the range of eligible property and 

eligible reuses under the state’s 
historic preservation tax credit 

programs, (2) makes several 
programmatic and procedural 
changes in the programs, and (3) 

transfers their administration 
from the Connecticut 
Commission on Culture and 

Tourism to DECD. 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=140&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=140&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=140&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=140&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=140&which_year=2011
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(PA 11-148, effective July 1, 
2011 and applicable to income 

years beginning on or after that 
date) 

 
Tax Incentives for Aerospace 
and Defense Plants 

 
An act extends certain 

business tax incentives to 

aerospace and defense plant 
facilities that were vacant as of 

its effective date and previously 
employed at least 800 people. 

(PA 11-61, effective upon 

passage) 
 

Film Production Tax Credit 
 

A new law limits the 

percentage of a film production 
tax credit companies may 
transfer in one income year to (1) 

50% of any credit allowed for the 
2011 income year and (2) 25% of 

any credit allowed for the 2012 
and or any subsequent income 
year.  

It exempts from the transfer 
limitations (1) those by 
companies subject to the 

corporation or insurance 
premium tax, (2) those by 

companies not subject to the 
corporation or insurance 
premium tax if they own, directly 

or indirectly, at least 50% of 
another entity subject to the 

business entity tax, and (3) 
credits issued for any production 
that the DECD commissioner 

determines is created in whole or 
significant part in a “qualified 
production facility.” 

It also retroactively increases, 
from 25% to 50%, the minimum 

share of principal photography 
days a production company must 

spend in the state on or after 
January 1, 2010 to qualify for a 
film production tax credit.  By 

law, a production company can 
also qualify for a credit if it 
spends at least (1) 50% or (2) $1 

million of its post-production 
costs in Connecticut on or after 

January 1, 2010. 
(PA 11-6, as amended by PA 

11-61, effective upon passage 

and applicable to income years 
beginning on or after January 1, 

2011, except for the exemption 
for companies not subject to the 
corporation and insurance 

premium tax, which is effective 
July 1, 2011) 

 

Relocated Television 
Productions 

 
A new law expands the types 

of qualified productions that are 

eligible for film production tax 
credits to include “relocated 
television productions.”  It 

defines a relocated television 
production as an eligible 

production company’s ongoing 
television program that (1) has 
filmed all of its prior seasons 

outside Connecticut, (2) may 
include certain current events 

shows, and (3) is created at a 
qualified production facility that 
meets specified investment and 

job creation thresholds on or 
after January 1, 2012.   

http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=148&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
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Productions featuring current 
events were not previously 

eligible for film production tax 
credits. 

(PA 11-1, OSS, effective upon 
passage) 

 

Film Infrastructure Investment 
Tax Credits 

 

Prior law allowed taxpayers 
claiming film infrastructure tax 

credits to carry forward excess 
credits for three income years.  
An act allows taxpayers to claim 

all or part of the tax credits 
either in the income year in 

which the infrastructure 
investments were made or in any 
of the three immediately 

succeeding income years. 
By law, unchanged by the act, 

taxpayers to which a film 

infrastructure tax credit has 
been assigned (i.e., sold or 

transferred) may claim the credit 
only in the year in which the 
investments were made. 

(PA 11-1, OSS, effective upon 
passage) 
 

Job Creation Tax Credits  
 

Prior law authorized three tax 
credit programs for businesses 
that create new jobs – jobs 

creation, qualified small business 
job creation, and vocational 

rehabilitation job creation tax 
credits.  A new law phases out 
these programs and replaces 

them with a new job expansion 
tax credit program, a three-year 
credit against the insurance 

premium, corporation, utility 

company, or personal income tax 
for businesses that create new 

jobs and hire certain Connecticut 
residents to fill them.   

The credit is $500 per month 
per new employee or $900 per 
month if the employee meets 

certain criteria.  It applies to jobs 
created from January 1, 2012 to 
January 1, 2014.  Small 

businesses (those with 50 or 
fewer full-time employees in 

Connecticut) qualify for a credit if 
they create at least one new job.  
Businesses that employ between 

51 and 100 full-time employees 
in Connecticut must create at 

least five new jobs and those that 
employ more than 100 full-time 
employees must create at least 

10. 
The job expansion tax credits 

are subject to the same aggregate 

annual cap that previously 
applied to the three existing tax 

credit programs.  An act 
increases this cap from $11 to 
$20 million.   

(PA 11-1, OSS, effective 
January 1, 2012 and applicable 
to income or tax years beginning 

on or after that date; PA 11-6 
and PA 11-86, effective July 1, 

2011) 
 
Urban and Industrial Site 

Reinvestment Tax Credits 
 

Business taxpayers investing 
in certain business development 
projects may qualify for both 

state Urban and Industrial Sites 
Reinvestment tax credits and 
federal New Markets tax credits. 

A new law aligns some of the 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/CGAbillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6801&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/CGAbillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6801&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/CGAbillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6801&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=86&which_year=2011
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rules for the state tax credits 
with the federal ones for projects 

receiving investments eligible for 
both credits. It requires these 

projects to meet the state and 
federal eligibility criteria and 
subjects them to the federal rules 

for recapturing (i.e., repaying) tax 
credits.  

(PA 11-78, effective July 1, 

2011) 
 

Angel Investor Tax Credit 
 
An act reduces, from 

$100,000 to $25,000, the 
minimum cash investment a 

taxpayer must make to qualify 
for the angel investor income tax 
credit. 

(PA 11-1, OSS, effective upon 
passage) 

 

Airport Development Zones 
 

A 2010 law created a 
development zone around 
Bradley International Airport and 

extended enterprise zone 
property tax exemptions and 
corporation business tax credits 

to manufacturers and other 
specified businesses that develop 

or acquire property in the zone.  
A new law allows the Connecticut 
Airport Authority (CAA) to 

establish additional airport 
development zones, upon the 

recommendation of the DECD 
commissioner.   

The act extends enterprise 

zone benefits to businesses in 
these airport zones under current 
procedures for processing these 

benefits.  Unlike for facilities in 

enterprise zones, CAA, rather 
than DECD, must determine 

whether a facility in an airport 
development zone qualifies for 

the tax benefits. 
(PA 11-1, OSS, effective upon 

passage) 

 
RP:ts 
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